Home Page

Meet Our Governors

WAYNE SUGG lives in Uphill Village and both this children attended Uphill Primary School. He became a Parent Governor before becoming a Co-opted Governor in 2006.  He is the current Chair of the Governing Body and is a member of the Strategy and Development Team. Wayne is a Corporate Bank Manager and has extensive experience of finance and business strategy.

Declaration of interests: Nil Declared


SHANE HAWKINGS became a Co-opted Governor in 2013. He serves as the Vice Chair of the Governing Body and is the Governor with responsibility for Safeguarding.

Declaration of interests: Shane has a daughter at Uphill Primary School.


PAULA BIRTWISTLE joined the Governing Body as a Parent Governor in 2013 and is currently a Co-opted Governor. She has two children at Uphill Primary School.  She is Chair of the Finance, Premises and Personnel Committee and also sits on the Teaching and Learning Committee. She is a technical production manager in the event industry.

Declaration of interests: Spouse, Simon Birtwistle, has been employed to carry out works within the school in his capacity as a joiner. Paula has two children at Uphill Primary School.


STEWART CASTLE lives in Uphill Village. He was elected as a Parent Governor over 25 years ago and is currently a Local Authority Governor; he sits as Chair of the Strategy and Development Committee. During his time as a governor at the school Stewart also served on the governing bodies of Westhaven and Broadoak schools, the latter for 12 years including as vice chair. He was the Chair of the Governing Body at Uphill Primary School until July 2016. He is a Trustee and Chair of the Uphill Village Society and Trustee of the Village Hall.

Declaration of interests: Nil Declared.


ANDREW CLARK is a Staff Governor and serves on the Finance, Premises and Personnel Committee. He is a class teacher and P.E Co-ordinator.  He has worked at Uphill Primary since 2007 and became a governor in 2011.

Declaration of interests: Employed within the school. 


MARINA DAUGHTREY lives in Uphill Village and has three children; two of whom attend Uphill Primary School. She became a Parent Governor in May 2015 and is Chair of the Teaching and Learning Committee. She is Link Governor for SEND and Pupil Premium.

Declaration of interests: Son and daughter attend Uphill Primary School.


SARAH GOODE has been a Co-opted Governor since 2014. Sarah teaches at the school and has responsibility for mathematics. She also has a daughter that attends Uphill Primary School. She is a member of the Teaching & Learning Committee.

Declaration of interests: Sarah teaches within the school and has a daughter who attends Uphill Primary School.

LISA WILLIAMS has been employed as the Clerk to the Governing Body since 2006.  She lives in Uphill Village and has three children who have all attended Uphill Primary School.  Lisa is also the Clerk to the Governing Body at Broadoak Maths and Computing College.

Declaration of interests:  Nil Declared.