Home Page

National Curriculum

The National Curriculum sets out the programmes of study and attainment targets for all subjects at all four key stages.

All local authority maintained schools in England must teach these programmes of study.

The majority of this National Curriculum was introduced in September 2014. The exceptions are English, mathematics and science.

English and mathematics came into force for pupils in years 2, 6 and 10 in September 2015, and will apply to pupils in year 11 from September 2016.

The science curriculum will come into force for secondary school pupils from 2016 & 2017.